UNSW Engineering
CSE
CSE Forums
Working together at CSE
 
 Watched TopicsWatched Topics   FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups  DigestsDigests   RegisterRegister 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Tenebrae Quake on CSE
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CSE Forums Forum Index -> CSE-Soc Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
wirelessduck
Tomas Cassidy



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Location: Tk::Exit

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 6:30 pm    Post subject: Tenebrae Quake on CSE Reply with quote

Code:
~tcas194/q1


I have manged to get Tenebrae Quake working on CSE lab machines.
Quake1 with pixel-shading and stencil-shadows!

EDIT: I have also applied vispatch to the pak files, so you have transparent water! change the "r_wateralpha" variable in the console to change the transparency level of the water. 1 is completely opaque (like original quake), and 0 is fully transparent (no water visible).
_________________
tcas194/Tomas Cassidy/[fsm]wirelessduck


Last edited by wirelessduck on Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:40 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
vermas
Sushant Verma



Joined: 13 Mar 2007

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:16 pm    Post subject: Re: Tenebrae Quake on CSE Reply with quote

wirelessduck wrote:
Code:
~tcas194/q1


I have manged to get Tenebrae Quake working on CSE lab machines.
Quake1 with pixel-shading and stencil-shadows!


How do we actually play it??... type "~tcas194/q1" ?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message MSN Messenger
wirelessduck
Tomas Cassidy



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Location: Tk::Exit

PostPosted: Tue Oct 02, 2007 8:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yes.
post here if you have any problems/issues.
your personal config will be created in the ~/.quake/ folder.
_________________
tcas194/Tomas Cassidy/[fsm]wirelessduck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Charred
Indrajith Chamara Kulatunge



Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Location: I AM IN UR BASE... KILLING UR DOODZ...

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 5:34 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

umm the brightness controls don't seem to do anything and how do you enable the hud?
_________________
CharreD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirelessduck
Tomas Cassidy



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Location: Tk::Exit

PostPosted: Wed Oct 03, 2007 8:40 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Charred wrote:
umm the brightness controls don't seem to do anything and how do you enable the hud?

The HUD can be enabled with the +/- keys to change the screen size. I'm not sure what the problems are with the brightness controls :S. I just found a precompiled binary of tenebrae on the net, so if you find a different one that works better i'll use it.
_________________
tcas194/Tomas Cassidy/[fsm]wirelessduck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirelessduck
Tomas Cassidy



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Location: Tk::Exit

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:02 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have managed to compile the tenebrae source at CSE and fixed a problem with corrupted pak files in the ID1 folder. Hopefully this might fix some things when I test on monday.
_________________
tcas194/Tomas Cassidy/[fsm]wirelessduck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirelessduck
Tomas Cassidy



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Location: Tk::Exit

PostPosted: Thu Oct 04, 2007 10:05 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Screenshots of Tenebrae

No idea why it doesn't look this good at CSE Confused
_________________
tcas194/Tomas Cassidy/[fsm]wirelessduck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirelessduck
Tomas Cassidy



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Location: Tk::Exit

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:12 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I found the texture files from the ammo boxes that featured in the screenshots on the tenebrae website, but its 16MB Sad
Here's to removing more uni files for games Razz
_________________
tcas194/Tomas Cassidy/[fsm]wirelessduck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Charred
Indrajith Chamara Kulatunge



Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Location: I AM IN UR BASE... KILLING UR DOODZ...

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:24 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

ok i got the hud

still getting problems with screen brightness. also when i jumped into the lava and respawned, the screen was all red and you can't really see much.
_________________
CharreD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirelessduck
Tomas Cassidy



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Location: Tk::Exit

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 3:09 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Screen Brightness Solved Very Happy

set the sh_lightmapbright cvar to something high, like 0.9 or 1. (it goes from 0 to 1). The default level is normally 0.5 which is quite dark.

EDIT: how can i set this to be a default value? putting it in /id1/autoexec.cfg doesnt seem to set anything (but quake says its execing the file) Confused
_________________
tcas194/Tomas Cassidy/[fsm]wirelessduck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Mohamed Moussa
Mohamed Moussa



Joined: 27 Feb 2007
Location: mohamed.h

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 5:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Cool, Ill try remember that for the next time I play.
What I did today was use xgamma in linux Razz
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Charred
Indrajith Chamara Kulatunge



Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Location: I AM IN UR BASE... KILLING UR DOODZ...

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 6:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

yeh
before you play
Code:
xgamma -gamma 2.5


after you finish playing
Code:
xgamma -gamma 1


it would be good to have it default in the game though
_________________
CharreD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirelessduck
Tomas Cassidy



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Location: Tk::Exit

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:17 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Charred wrote:
yeh
before you play
Code:
xgamma -gamma 2.5


after you finish playing
Code:
xgamma -gamma 1


it would be good to have it default in the game though


If you've noticed, the gamma slider in tenebrae settings seems to be a bit b0rked. I will add the gamma options to the tenebrae run script (before and after running tenebrae) to set a new gamma value and restore it.
I will have to delete the new textures I installed for the ammoboxes unless someone is willing to provide 16MB of space for the pak file Sad
_________________
tcas194/Tomas Cassidy/[fsm]wirelessduck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Charred
Indrajith Chamara Kulatunge



Joined: 13 Mar 2007
Location: I AM IN UR BASE... KILLING UR DOODZ...

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 9:59 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

wirelessduck wrote:
If you've noticed, the gamma slider in tenebrae settings seems to be a bit b0rked.
Hence xgamma

wirelessduck wrote:
I will add the gamma options to the tenebrae run script (before and after running tenebrae) to set a new gamma value and restore it.
I will have to delete the new textures I installed for the ammoboxes unless someone is willing to provide 16MB of space for the pak file Sad
It would be good to have the gamma slider working. It would remove the need to xgamma everytime.

btw how do you change what your character looks like?
_________________
CharreD
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
wirelessduck
Tomas Cassidy



Joined: 10 Mar 2006
Location: Tk::Exit

PostPosted: Mon Oct 08, 2007 11:20 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Charred wrote:
btw how do you change what your character looks like?


Multiplayer => Setup
_________________
tcas194/Tomas Cassidy/[fsm]wirelessduck
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    CSE Forums Forum Index -> CSE-Soc All times are GMT + 10 Hours
Goto page 1, 2, 3  Next
Page 1 of 3

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group