Published: 1st January 2017
DOI: 10.4204/EPTCS.235
ISSN: 2075-2180


Proceedings Third International Workshop on
Rewriting Techniques for Program Transformations and Evaluation
Porto, Portugal, 23rd June 2016

Edited by: Horatiu Cirstea and Santiago Escobar

The Complexity of Abstract Machines
Beniamino Accattoli
On Upper Bounds on the Church-Rosser Theorem
Ken-etsu Fujita
Confluence of Conditional Term Rewrite Systems via Transformations
Karl Gmeiner
An Extension of Proof Graphs for Disjunctive Parameterised Boolean Equation Systems
Yutaro Nagae, Masahiko Sakai and Hiroyuki Seki
Sound Structure-Preserving Transformation for Weakly-Left-Linear Deterministic Conditional Term Rewriting Systems
Ryota Nakayama, Naoki Nishida and Masahiko Sakai
An Environment for Analyzing Space Optimizations in Call-by-Need Functional Languages
Nils Dallmeyer and Manfred Schmidt-Schauss


This volume contains the formal proceedings of the 3rd International Workshop on Rewriting Techniques for Program Transformations and Evaluation (WPTE 2016), held on 23rd June 2016 in Porto, Portugal, and affiliated with the First International Conference on Formal Structures for Computation and Deduction (FSCD 2016). The volume is dedicated to the memory of Kristoffer H. Rose.

Scope of WPTE

Rewriting techniques are of great help for studying correctness of program transformations, translations and evaluation, and the aim of WPTE is to bring together the researchers working on program transformations, evaluation, and operationally-based programming language semantics, using rewriting methods, in order to share the techniques and recent developments and to exchange ideas to encourage further activation of research in this area. Topics in the scope of WPTE include the correctness of program transformations, optimizations and translations; program transformations for proving termination, confluence and other properties; correctness of evaluation strategies; operational semantics of programs, operationally-based program equivalences such as contextual equivalences and bisimulations; cost-models for reasoning about the optimizing power of transformations and the costs of evaluation; program transformations for verification and theorem proving purposes; translation, simulation, equivalence of programs with different formalisms, and evaluation strategies; program transformations for applying rewriting techniques to programs in specific programming languages; program transformations for program inversions and program synthesis; program transformation and evaluation for Haskell and rewriting.

For this edition of the workshop five regular research papers were accepted out of the submissions. Each submission was reviewed by at least three members of the Program Committee. The program also included one invited talk by Beniamino Accattoli (INRIA and LIX, France); the paper associated to this talk is included in this volume together with the regular papers.


Many people helped to make WPTE 2016 a success. We thank the members of the program committee for their careful reviewing of all submissions and we thank the participants for their valuable contributions. We express our gratitude to all members of the local organization of FSCD 2016 and in particular to Sandra Alves, conference chair of FSCD 2016, for their constant support. Finally, we thank the editors of EPTCS for the publication of this post-proceedings and the LORIA laboratory for the financial support for the invited talk.

Program Committee

Takahito Aoto, RIEC, Tohoku University, Japan
Yuki Chiba, JAIST, Japan
Horatiu Cirstea, LORIA, Université de Lorraine, France
Fer-Jan de Vries, University of Leicester, UK
Santiago Escobar, Politècnica de València, Spain
Maribel Fernández, King's College London, UK
Johan Jeuring, Open Universiteit Nederland and Universiteit Utrecht, Holland
Delia Kesner, Université Paris-Diderot, France
Sergueï Lenglet, Université de Lorraine, France
Elena Machkasova, University of Minnesota, Morris, USA
William Mansky, University of Pennsylvania, USA
Georg Moser, University of Innsbruck, Austria
Joachim Niehren, INRIA Lille, France
Naoki Nishida, Nagoya University, Japan
Kristoffer H. Rose, Two Sigma Investments, LLC, USA
David Sabel, Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Masahiko Sakai, Nagoya University, Japan
Manfred Schmidt-Schauß, Goethe-University Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Janis Voigtländer, University of Bonn, Germany
Johannes Waldmann, HTWK Leipzig, Germany

October 2016,
Horatiu Cirstea and Santiago Escobar